Monday, 30 March 2015
Official website of Calicut University


Print E-mail
Department of Commerce and Management Studies
Established in 1972
  Head of the Department : Dr . E .K Satheesh

The Department is one of the first University Departments in Kerala to offer Management courses. Today, it is one of the largest teaching departments of the University on the main campus with about 110 post-graduate students and about 30 research scholars. Responding to the changing needs and demands, it offers part-time MBA programmes at its Calicut, Thrissur and Palakkad centers, and part-time Diploma in Computer Applications (PGDCA) in collaboration with the Institute of Human Resources Development, Calicut. In addition, the Department has setup four Satellite centers at Palakkad, Thrissur, Calicut and Vatakara where MBA Regular Programme is offered in self-financing mode. The fulltime MBA programmes has the accreditation from the All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE). The placement bureau of the Department has a good track of helping students find placements in various management organizations. The research and consultancy cell undertakes feasibility studies, entrepreneurship development programmes, market research and other related activities for business and industrial houses.
The scholarships, cash awards and endowments instituted in the Department are: (1) Mrs. Leela Zacharia Memorial Cash Award for top scorer in the MBA examination, (2) Dr. Moosa A. Bakar Endowment Cash Award for top scorer in the M.Com. examination, (3) MAS Cash Award for for top scorer in the MBA examination, (4) Mr. Krishna Das Memorial Cash Award for the for top scorer in the First Year M.Com. examination, (5) Rao Bhahadur Appu Nedungadi endowment and (6) Dr. Moosa A. Bakar endowment.
Fifty two research scholars have secured their Ph.D. Degrees. The Department has a well stacked library

 Thrust Areas
Finance, Marketing and Human resources management

 Faculty Members
Dr. V.K. Janardhanan
Dr. P. Mohan
Dr. K.P. Muraleedharan
Dr. A.K. Sarada
Dr. M.A. Joseph
Dr. B. Vijayachandran Pillai
Dr. B. Johnson
Dr. E.K. Satheesh
Courses Offered
Course Name Intake Duration
M.Com. 20
M.B.A 40 -
M.Phil 6
Last Updated ( Monday, 03 March 2014 )