Tuesday, 13 November 2018
Official website of Calicut University


Print E-mail
Department of Philosophy
Established in 1976
  Head of the Department : Dr.T V Madhu

The Department was set up in 1976,to offer post graduate courses in Philosophy. Professor E.I. Warrier  was  the founder­head  of  the  Department.  Subsequently  Professor  Dr.  V.C.  Narayana Das, was  the  Head  of  the  Department  till  1999.  The   Department  launched  MA  and Ph.D  programmes  in  1977  and  M.Phil  course  in  1990.   The  Master  course  has been  restructured  by incorporating  areas  such  as  philosophy  of  mind,  cognitive science,  film  and  philosophy, philosophy  of  literature  and  culture  studies.  The Department  has  conducted  one  Summer Institute  and  six  national/  international level  seminars   on  areas   such  as  contemporary  Indian philosophy,  philosophy  of Wittgenstein, postmodernism,  Maxism  and  Gandhism,  film  and philosophy, philosophy  of  Guru  Nanak,  Kabir  and  Narayana  Guru,  cultural  dynamics  and educational  process  in  India.   So  far  the  Department   has  produced  31  Ph.Ds. The  Department maintains a library over 5,000 books.

 Thrust Areas
Philosophy of language , philosophy of cognitive science, biophilosophy DST (Developmental Systems Theory), Gandhian philosophy, Indian philosophy, postmodern philosophy of media, film and gender, contemporary lower philosophy and regional constitution.

 Faculty Members
Dr. T.V. Madhu
Dr. S. Radha
Dr. K. Gopinathan
Smt. K. Jayasree
Sri. K.J. Gasper
Dr. P.K. Pokker
Courses Offered
Course Name Intake Duration
4 Sem
M.Phil 15
1 Year (2 Sem)